2016 Nominees

The 2016 SA Sport Awards recognise outstanding sporting achievements that occurred during the period 1 September 2015 to 30 September 2016.

Sport Star of the Year

Wayde van Niekerk

Caster Semenya

Kagiso Rabada

Sportswoman of the Year

Jenna Ward

Caster Semenya

Phumza Maweni

Sportsman of the Year

Wayde van Niekerk

Hank McGregor

Chad le Clos

People's Choice Award

Chad le Clos

Wayde van Niekerk

Caster Semenya

Kagiso Rabada

Seabelo Senatla

Team of the Year

Rowing (men's coxless pair)

Mamelodi Sundowns


Coach of the Year

Pitso Mosimane

Anna Botha

Jean Verster

Suzanne Ferreira

Newcomer of the Year Award

Henri Schoeman

Brad Binder

Ntando Mahlangu

Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability

Zanele Situ

Anrune Liebenberg

Ilse Hayes

Sportsman of the Year with Disability

Charl du Toit

Dyan Buis

Reinhardt Hamman

Volunteer of the Year

Kim Pople

Carol Blignaut

Charles Villet

Photographer of the Year

Sydney Mahlangu

Christian Kotze

Reg Caldecott

Journalist of the Year

David van der Sandt

Thabiso Sithole

Kwena Moabelo

School Team of the Year

St Benedict's: Rowing

La Rochelle Girls High School: Athletics

Paarl Boys High School: Rugby

Recreation Body of the Year

Egoli Squash

Fight with Insight


Indigenous Games Team of the Year

Limpopo Ilncuva

North West Khokho

KZN Kgatli Team

People's Choice of the Year

A. Caster Semenya

B. Chad le Clos

C. kagiso Rabada

D. Seabelo Senatla

E. Wayde van Niekerk

Vote for your BEST and you could win a Digital Tablet!

SMS the letter for your sports star of the year to 33121

SMS are charged at R1. Free and bundled SMS do not apply.  Voting opens 22 October 2016, and closes 22 November at 21:00. Votes are audited by an independent firm.


© 2016 SA Sport Awards